My New Home

I’m sorry for keeping you all in the dark for so long – I did eventually find a place to live. Where? Chinatown!

It’s absolutely crazy and ridiculously busy but there is so much exotic fruit and AMAZING bakeries (two items for $1….that’s what I’m talking about).

When I signed the lease, my landlord gave me a bubble tea and I fell in love with the drink.

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????hola-amigos-you-look-delicious-bubble-tea-7519092-300-316

You can get a milky version or a green/black tea based version and they come in about a million flavours.  My favourite is watermelon (so far) but I have yet to try all of them. The black balls at the bottom are “bubbles” made of tapioca. They taste like nothing but they’re fun little gummy balls to eat when you suck them up through the big straw.

The drink was invented in Taiwan in the 1980s, originally called bōbà tea. Fun fact!

I took some photos of where I live now so you can all see it. So far, I’m loving life in Chinatown!

DSCN2059

Chinatown store… it has everything except pillows!

DSCN2057

Spadina Ave.

DSCN2058

The graffiti here is just so beautiful. Prepare yourself for a lot of graffiti pictures!

DSCN2060

A T-shirt for $2? This is definitely where I’m doing my Christmas shopping!

DSCN2062

And a mandatory TTC photo. The new streetcars are so sleek. Too bad they’re still as slow and crowded as ever.

DSCN2063

Chinatown fashion. These mannequins are actually chained to the outside wall of the store so no one can steal them.

DSCN2068

And, of course, there is a Tim Hortons. Would I live here if there wasn’t?

DSCN2064

Most of the signs have smiley faces or kittens on them… love it!

DSCN2069

How do Torontonians spend 90% of their day? Waiting for the walk sign.

DSCN2070

Graffiti in an alleyway off of Spadina Ave.

DSCN2071

My new home!

DSCN2072

Everything is so colourful!

DSCN2075

This cafe looks a little sketchy but it is actually really great. It’s cozy on the inside and the baristas are all really friendly. Also – if you go, you NEED to try the Hawaii Dream.

DSCN2076

Incense sticks lined up in Kensington Market.

DSCN2077

Graffiti in the Kensington Market.

DSCN2078

Coolest entrance ever?

DSCN2079

There are trucks in the city! #BuiltFordTough This made my country heart so happy.

DSCN2080

I’m in love with graffiti.

DSCN2082

Should we paint our house bright blue and put statues of pink naked women on the balcony? Sure, why not.

DSCN2085

A little clothing booth on Spadina and Dundas

DSCN2091

You’d be surprised at how many people use this Buddha as a chair. HISTORY FACT: Before the Nazis used the swastika, it was used in many other cultures as a positive symbol since 1000 BC. It represents life, sun, power, strength and good luck.

DSCN2092

Here are the two Chinese dragons that welcome you to Chinatown.

DSCN2094

This is where I get my fruit! I haven’t ventured into the store to buy meat or anything because the smell is overwhelming.

DSCN2095

Chinatown’s mangoes are the best mangoes in all the land. But don’t get the green and red ones – get the orange ones!

DSCN2100

Birds. Everywhere. I live in fear of getting pooped on.

DSCN2104

Some more captivating graffiti.

DSCN2110

This is on my way to school. I absolutely love sunflowers and there’s a huge cluster of them in the middle of the street.

DSCN2113

Bulldogs are some of the funniest looking creatures on the planet.

DSCN2127

Elm St. – these trees are gorgeous in the evening. If I was rich, I would eat at these restaurants every single night.

DSCN2153

People in Chinatown are not fans of going slow.

DSCN2160

Cute little toys in a window on Dundas St.

DSCN2174

Dundas Square!

DSCN2184

And, how can you have a photo gallery of Toronto without Rob Ford? DISCLAIMER: I know this isn’t actually Rob Ford. The man is clearly wearing a mask.

DSCN2191

Oh, hello, CN Tower.

DSCN2198

I really love this picture. Proud to be a Canadian!

DSCN2205

When it rains in Toronto, it pours.

DSCN2266

Ladies are picking through scarves at the Taste of the Kingsway Festival – really unique patterns and beautiful bright colours. I wanted to buy them all!

DSCN2278

This lemonade was AMAZING. She served it out of a giant lemon and put fresh fruit in all of the drinks. I did feel bad for her, though, since there were about 20 bees buzzing around her head.

DSCN2280

Isn’t this awesome?

DSCN2316

A mime at the Taste of the Kingsway Festival.

DSCN2325

I really have no idea who this is but he makes hilarious faces when he sings.

DSCN2489

These rocks and bricks are all balancing on top of each other – no glue or other tricks.

DSCN2490

OM

DSCN2821

A mini orchid that my sister got me for a house-warming gift. So pretty!

DSCN2826

Laughing Buddha.

DSCN2837

This was an experiment to see if I could take a picture of the sun. I couldn’t.

DSCN2843

Biking in Toronto is one of the riskiest activities you can ever do…. you might as well do it with a pretty bike.

Ferris wheel at the Taste of the Kingsway Festival on Bloor St.

Taste of the Kingsway Festival, Toronto

Guy begs for change in toronto at yonge-dundas square

At least those begging for change have a sense of humour!

IMG_20140910_114226

It was $6. But it was awesome.

IMG_20140920_115446

Necklaces and bracelets made by Stolen from Africa for the Manifesto festival in Dundas Square.

Untitled

A busker in Chinatown

I hope you enjoyed the photos! I will definitely be taking more. Let me know what you think – what would you like to see pictures of?

4 thoughts on “My New Home

Leave a Reply

